JTG/IEEE ITSoc Summer School 2022 IIT Mandi, 20-23 June 2022

The 13th edition of the JTG/IEEE ITSoc summer school was successfully conducted from 20th to 23rd June 2022 at the Indian Institute of Technology Mandi by Dr. Satyajit Thakor, general chair, and the co-organizers.

The Joint Telematics Group/IEEE Information Theory Society Summer School on Signal Processing, Communications and Networks is one of the most important annual events in India for the communications and information theory community. The summer school attracts world-renowned academics, researchers, and a large number of research students.

The summer school was inaugurated by Prof. Laxmidhar Behera, Director, IIT Mandi, and Prof. Ajit Kumar Chaturvedi, Director, IIT Roorkee. The technical program consisted of three courses, five research talks, two poster sessions, two industry sessions, and Q&A sessions. Three exemplary and inspiring academic stalwarts delivered courses. Prof. David Tse, from Stanford and the Shannon Awardee 2017, delivered a lecture series on the bitcoin protocol for blockchains. Prof Raymond W. Yeung, from CUHK and Shannon Awardee 2022, delivered a lecture series on the foundational concepts of information theory and network coding. Prof. Aylin Yener, from Ohio State and the IEEE/ITSoc Distinguished Lecturer 2019-2021, delivered a lecture series on 6G wireless communications. Research talks were delivered by Prof. Sharayu Moharir, IIT Bombay, Dr. Mayank Bakshi, Arizona State University, Prof. Lakshmi Prasad Natarajan, IIT Hyderabad, Prof. Lalitha Vadlamani, IIIT Hyderabad, and Prof. Rahul Singh, IISc. Industry sessions were from experts from two industries: Qualcomm and Saankhya Labs. Nineteen posters were presented across two poster sessions by research students and post-docs; among these, six posters were awarded as best posters.

More than 280 students and researchers participated in the summer school including participants from sixteen IITs, IISc, TIFR, two IIITs, two NITs, and other eminent universities from India, Australia, China, Hong Kong, Iran, Israel, Netherlands, Singapore, Taiwan, Turkey, and the USA. Besides, we have registrants from many known companies and industries. The summer school program and its execution were commended by the distinguished speakers and participants.

The industry sponsors for supporting this high-quality event were IEEE and the IEEE Information Theory Society, Qualcomm, Saankhya Labs, COMSNETS Association, Google, IIT Mandi iHub and HCI Foundation, and Springer.

The organizers for this summer school were Prof. Laxmidhar Behera (patron), Dr. Satyajit Thakor (general chair and technical program), Dr. Ketan Rajawat (finance chair), Dr. Adarsh Patel (finance co-chair), Dr. Sreelakshmi Manjunath (publicity), Dr. Syed Abbas (local arrangements) and Dr. Ishtiyaq Qureshi (website). The advisory committee members were Prof. Adrish Banerjee, IIT Kanpur, Prof. Srikrishna Bhashyam, IIT Madras, Prof. Navin Kashyap, IISc, Prof. Bikash Kumar Dey, IIT Bombay, Prof. Vinod Prabhakaran, TIFR, Mumbai, Prof. Rajesh Sundaresan, IISc, and Prof. Andrew Thangaraj, IIT Madras. We especially thank Prof. Ajit Kumar Chaturvedi, Director, IIT Roorkee, and Prof. Parastoo Sadeghi, UNSW Canberra for their support throughout the planning of this summer school.