School of Mechanical and Materials Engineering

The School of Mechanical and Materials Engineering (SMME) is one of the founding schools in IIT Mandi. Initially a part of School of Engineering, SMME became an independent school in 2021. SMME remains committed for high standards of engineering education through outstanding teaching, innovative curricula, and excellent research environment. Currently, the school offers several diverse programs, such as Bachelor of Technology (BTech), Master of Technology (MTech), Master of Technology (by Research) or MTech (by Research) as well as a doctoral program (PhD). BTech program is offered in Mechanical Engineering. MTech program is offered in Mechanical Engineering with specializations in Energy Systems (MES), Materials and Energy Engineering (MEE), Fluid-Thermal Engineering (FTE) and Electric Transportation (ET). Similarly, students in the MTech (by Research) and PhD programs do their research work in several specializations geared towards enabling them to tackle outstanding engineering problems relevant to the modern world. The faculty members of the school are involved in research and teaching in the areas of advanced materials, bio-mechanics, computational mechanics, composite design and manufacturing, energy engineering, smart structure & system, solid mechanics and thermo-fluidics.

Visit School Website

Dr. Atul Dhar
(Chairperson, SMME IIT Mandi)


Name Designation Email
Sunny Zafar Assistant Professor sunnyzafar[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Atul Dhar Associate Professor (Chairperson) add[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Bukke Ravindra Naik Assistant Professor ravindra[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Deepak Sachan Assistant Professor dsachan[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Dube Dheeraj Prakashchand Assistant Professor dheeraj[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Gajendra Singh Assistant Professor gajendra[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Gaurav Bhutani Assistant Professor gaurav[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Himanshu Pathak Associate Professor himanshu[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Jaspreet Kaur Randhawa Associate Professor jaspreet[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Mohammad Talha Associate Professor talha[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Mrityunjay Doddamani Associate Professor mrityunjay[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
P. Anil Kishan Associate Professor kishan[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Parmod Kumar Assistant Professor parmod[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Pradeep Kumar Associate Professor pradeepkumar[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Prateek Saxena Assistant Professor prateek[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Rahul Vaish Professor rahul[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Raj S Dave Professor of Practice [at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Rajeev Kumar Professor rajeev[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Rajesh Ghosh Associate Professor rajesh[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Ranbir Singh Assistant Professor ranbir[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Rik Rani Koner Associate Professor rik[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Sandip Chatterjee Adjunct Professor [at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Sarthak Nag Assistant Professor sarthak[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Satvasheel Ramesh Powar Associate Professor satvasheel[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Shashwat Bhattacharya Assistant Professor shashwat[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Sudhir Kumar Pandey Assistant Professor sudhir[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Swati Sharma Assistant Professor swati[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Vikas Kumar Adjunct Professor [at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Vishal Singh Chauhan Associate Professor vsc[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Viswanath Balakrishnan Associate Professor viswa[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in