The Senate is responsible for the instructional standards, developing academic policies, overseeing education and examinations, and regulating the Institute's academic-related operations.

S. No Particulars Date of Meeting Minutes
43nd Senate Meeting 16-05-2024 View
42nd Senate Meeting 23-01-2024 View
41st Senate Meeting 08-10-2023 View
40th Senate Meeting 17-09-2023 View
39th Senate Meeting 25-04-2023 View
38th Senate Meeting 08-02-2023 View
37th Senate Meeting 07-10-2022 View
36th Senate Meeting 15-09-2022 View
35th Senate Meeting 02-06-2022 View
34th Senate Meeting 15-03-2022 View
33rd Senate Meeting 10-12-2021 View
32nd Senate Meeting 22-09-2021 View
31st Senate Meeting 10-06-2021 View

S. No As per Institute of Technology Act- 1961 Designation Name
1 Section14(a) The Director, Ex-Officio, Who shall be the Chairman of the Senate Prof. Laxmidhar Behera Director IIT Mandi
2 Section14(b) The Deputy Director Ex- Officio, NA
3 Section14( c) The Professors Appointed or Recognized as such by the Institute for the Purpose of imparting Instructions in the Institute, including visiting and emeritus All the professors will automatically be the member of Senate under Section 14(C)
4 Section14(d) Three Persons not being employee of the Institute, to be nominated by the Chairman in consultation with the Director, from among educationists of repute, each from the fields of science, engineering and humanities; and; 1. Prof. Siddhartha Mukhopadhyay, Dept. of Electrical Engineering, IIT Kharagpur
2. Prof. Binay Kumar Pattnaik, Dept. of HSS, IIT Kanpur
3. Prof. Sandeep Verma, Dept. of Chemistry, IIT Kanpur & Secretary (SERB)
5 Section 19 Secretary and Registrar Registrar, Ex-Officio IIT Mandi
S. No As per Institute of Technology Act- 1961 Designation Name
6 Clause5-1(a) The Deans ( Ex-Officio); Deans:
1. Dean (Academics), IIT Mandi
2. Dean (F&A), IIT Mandi
3. Dean (Students), IIT Mandi
4. Dean (I&S), IIT Mandi
5. Dean (SRIC) , IIT Mandi
6. Dean (Faculty), IIT Mandi
7. Dean (DORA), IIT Mandi
8. Dean (DCS), IIT Mandi
7 Clause5-1(b) The Heads of the Departments/Academic Centres/Schools other than Professors, as are not members of the Senate, (Ex-Officio); Schools:
1. Chairperson, School of Computing and Electrical Engineering
2. Chairperson, School of Humanities and Social Sciences
3. Chairperson, School of Chemical Sciences
4. Chairperson, School of Physical Sciences
5. Chairperson, School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences
6. Chairperson, School of Biosciences and Bio Engineering
7. Chairperson, School of Mechanical & Materials Engineering
8. Chairperson, School of Civil and Environmental Engineering
9. Chairperson, School of Management

1. Co-ordinator, AMRC
2. Co-ordinator, BioX
3. Co-ordinator , C4FED
4. Chairperson, IKSMHA
5. Chairperson, CAIR
6. Chairperson, CHCI
7. Chairperson, CQST
8 Clause5-1(c) One or More members of academic from each of the Departments and Schools, nominated by the Chairman of the Senate, for a period of one year, subject to a maximum of two persons from any Department or School SCEE:
1. Dr. Rahul Shrestha
2. Dr. Jinesh Machchhar
3. Dr. Satyajit Thakor
1. Dr. Bindu Radhamany
1. Dr. Deepak Swami
2.Dr. K V Uday
1. Dr. Bhaskar Mondal
1.Dr. Satvasheel R. Powar
1. Dr. Amit Prasad
1.. Dr. Surya Prakash
1. Dr. Nitu Kumari
1. Dr. Puran Singh
IKSMHA Centre:
1. Dr. Arnav Bhavsar
CAIR Centre:
1. Dr. Narendra Dhar
9 Clause5-1(d) Two distinguished persons from the Industry, Research & Development, Financial Institutions and any other comparable organizations, nominated by the Chairman of the Senate, for a period of two years Mr. Rajesh Sinha, Chief Scientist & Head - Smart Machines Research Program, TCS
Mr. Hemachandra Bhat, General Manager and Practice Head, Robotics Platforms, Wipro
10 Clause5-1(e) Invitees, with no voting rights, whose presence may be sought during discussion on one or more items of agenda. 1. Associate Dean (Courses)
2.Associate Dean (Research)
3. Librarian/Dy. Librarian
4. Deputy Registrar/Assistant Registrar (Academics)
5.Head – CCE
6. Dr. Tulika Srivastava, Associate Professor, SBB
7. Dr. Devika Sethi, Assistant Professor, SHSS
11 Clause5-1(f) Upto five students representatives nominated by the Chairman of the Senate, as special invitees, for a period of one year whose participation shall be for the non-evaluation items of the Senate 1. Student Research Affairs Secretary, IIT Mandi
2. Student General Secretary, IIT Mandi
2. Student Academic Affairs Secretary, IIT Mandi